Resources

11. Usage of Natural Resources

11. The company discloses the extent to which natural resources are used for the company’s business activities. Possible options here are materials, the input and output of water, soil, waste, energy, emissions, land and biodiversity as well as emissions for the life cycles of products and services.

The efficient handling of electricity, gas and water as well as consumables plays an important role in the day-to-day work at Fraunhofer UMSICHT. Therefore the amounts of electricity, gas and water as well as consumables Fraunhofer UMSICHT uses in the course of day-to-day work are recorded, and serve as a knowledge base for a handling of the resources as efficient as possible.

At the same time, it must be taken into consideration that tests and practical development activities in the labs and technical shops lead to temporarily increased consumptions of resources. These do not necessarily have to be considered negatively since they often entail later resource savings. In light of this, it does not make sense to align the ecological objectives of Fraunhofer UMSICHT exclusively with the resource consumptions tied to the development activity.

The aspect biodiversity is not regarded as relevant for the activities of Fraunhofer UMSICHT.

Detailed information on this topic can be found in the chapter “Resource Efficiency and Environmental Protection” on pages 17 - 20 of our Sustainability Report.

12. Resource Management

12. The company discloses what qualitative and quantitative goals it has set itself with regard to its resource efficiency, its use of renewables, the increase in raw material productivity and the reduction in the usage of ecosystem services, and how these goals have been met or will be met in the future.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT implements a number of measures for resources savings (e.g. duplex printing, use of LED lamps, solar cooling). As an institute specializing in process technology we have no continuous production with permanently unchanging or nearly unchanging material input. We perform R&D services according to customer-specific requirements. Eventually, our work is aimed at reducing the material input of our customers, at enhancing their know-how about environmental impacts or at substituting hazardous substances.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN1
Materials used by weight or volume. Link

We report the materials used at our institute systematically, e.g. computer equipment and laboratory consumables. However, due to being a research institution and not a manufacturing company, we do not operate our experimental facilities continuously and have no regular material use. Only the costs of materials used are recorded.

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN3
Energy consumption within the organization. Link

With the drop in final energy consumption, the primary energy expenditure by Fraunhofer UMSICHT also dropped to 46.4 million MJ/year.

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN8
Total water withdrawal by source. Link

Despite an increasing number of staff, the fresh water consumption has remained constant at approx. 15,000 m³/year in the past years. In 2013, the fresh water consumption amounted to approx. 14,700 m³.

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN23
Total weight of waste by type and disposal method. Link

At Fraunhofer UMSICHT, the amounts of waste are recorded by means of a waste code number as part of a waste balance sheet. This is of particular relevance for hazardous wastes which, however, are not regularly generated as part of the research and development activity. For residential and paper waste as well as glass waste, collection containers are available which, however, are not weighed. Based on the calculations to date, the total waste amount was 58 t in 2012 and 79 t in 2013.

Greenhouse Gas

13. Climate-Relevant Emissions

13. The company discloses the GHG emissions in accordance with the Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocol or standards based on it and states the goals it has set itself to reduce emissions.

With the drop of the primary energy expenditure, the greenhouse gas emissions dropped last year. While the total in 2012 amounted to approx. 2,700 t of CO2 equivalent, they amounted to barely 2,500 t of CO2 equivalent in 2013. Of those 2,500 t of CO2 equivalent, 80 percent were caused by the consumption of electricity, 13 percent by the consumption of natural gas, and 7 percent by business trips.

The greenhouse gas emissions per staff member (SM) and year dropped from 10.8 t of CO2 equivalent/SM in 2011 to 10.1 t of CO2 equivalent/SM in 2012 and 8.1 t of CO2 equivalent/SM 2013.

The greenhouse gas emissions caused by business trips amounted to 0.75 t CO2 equivalent/SM in 2013. Overall, 60 percent of the business trips were conducted via railroad (41 percent) and the public transport system (19 percent). In 25 percent of the business trips, a company car was used, and in 15 percent an airplane. Despite the dominating utilization of the railroad, almost half of the kilometers were spent on air travel. The reason for this is that some projects required business trips to South America and Asia. The utilization of fuels leads to greenhouse gas and nitrous oxide emissions. In 2013, approx. 200 t CO2 equivalent and 590 kg NOx were emitted across all modes of transportation. The NOx emissions (444 kg) caused by air travel are significantly higher than the NOx emissions caused by other modes of transportation. Therefore, the objective is to reduce the number of domestic flights and to increasingly use the railroad.

We plan to switch the power supply of our institute to green electricity.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN15
Direct greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions (Scope 1). Link

13 percent of our greenhouse gas emissions (of the 2,500 tonnes of CO2 equivalent) are caused by the consumption of natural gas.

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN16
Energy indirect greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions (Scope 2). Link

In 2013, 80 percent of the total greenhouse gas emissions (of the 2,500 tonnes of CO2 equivalents) were caused by the consumption of electricity and fall under the Scope 2 of the Greenhouse Gas Protocol.

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN17
Other indirect greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions (Scope 3). Link

The greenhouse gas emissions caused by business trips amounted to 202 t CO2 equivalents in 2013. We did not record any further greenhouse gas emissions in this Scope.

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN19
Reduction of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. Link

Additional information: the total amount of our greenhouse gas emissions dropped from 2,700 tonnes of CO2 equivalents in 2012 to 2,500 tonnes of CO2 equivalents in 2013.

Ressourcen

11. Inanspruchnahme von natürlichen Ressourcen

11. Das Unternehmen legt offen, in welchem Umfang natürliche Ressourcen für die Geschäftstätigkeit in Anspruch genommen werden. Infrage kommen hier Materialien sowie der Input und Output von Wasser, Boden, Abfall, Energie, Fläche, Biodiversität sowie Emissionen für den Lebenszyklus von Produkten und Dienstleistungen.

Der effiziente Umgang mit Strom, Gas und Wasser sowie mit Verbrauchsstoffen spielt in der täglichen Arbeit bei Fraunhofer UMSICHT eine wichtige Rolle. Die im Rahmen der täglichen Forschungstätigkeit bei Fraunhofer UMSICHT verbrauchten Mengen an Strom, Gas und Wasser sowie der Verbrauchsstoffe werden daher erfasst und dienen als Wissensbasis für einen möglichst effizienten Umgang mit den Ressourcen.

Es muss berücksichtigt werden, dass Versuche und praktische Entwicklungstätigkeit in den Laboratorien und Technika zu temporär erhöhten Ressourcenverbräuchen führen. Diese sind nicht zwingend negativ zu werten, da sie oftmals spätere Ressourceneinsparungen ermöglichen. Vor diesem Hintergrund erscheint es nicht sinnvoll, die ökologischen Ziele von Fraunhofer UMSICHT ausschließlich an den durch Entwicklungstätigkeit gebundenen Ressourcenaufwendungen auszurichten.

Das Thema Biodiversität wird für die Aktivitäten von Fraunhofer UMSICHT als nicht relevant eingestuft.

Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie im Kapitel Ressourceneffizienz und Umweltschutz auf den Seiten 17 - 20 unseres Nachhaltigkeitsberichts.

12. Ressourcenmanagement

12. Das Unternehmen legt offen, welche qualitativen und quantitativen Ziele es sich für seine Ressourceneffizienz, den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien, die Steigerung der Rohstoffproduktivität und die Verringerung der Inanspruchnahme von Ökosystemdienstleistungen gesetzt hat und wie diese erfüllt wurden bzw. in Zukunft erfüllt werden sollen.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT setzt vielfältige Maßnahmen zur Ressourceneinsparung um (z. B. Senkung des Papierverbrauchs, Beschaffung von FSC-zertifiziertem Papier, Einsatz von LED-Leuchten, Nutzung von solarer Wärme zur Kühlung). Als verfahrenstechnisches Institut haben wir keine feste Produktion mit dauerhaft ähnlichem oder gleichem Materialeinsatz. Wir forschen gemäß kundenspezifischer Vorgaben. Letztlich dienen unsere Arbeiten dazu, den Materialeinsatz beim Kunden zu optimieren, sein Wissen über die Umweltauswirkungen zu vergrößern oder dazu, gefährliche Substanzen zu substituieren.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator G4-EN1
Eingesetzte Materialien nach Gewicht oder Volumen.

Eingesetzte Materialien, wie Computerausstattung und Laborverbräuche werden erfasst. Da Fraunhofer UMSICHT kein produzierendes Unternehmen ist und unsere Versuchsanlagen nicht im Dauerbetrieb laufen, haben wir keinen regelmäßigen Materialeinsatz. Dieser wird bislang nur kostenseitig erfasst.

Leistungsindikator G4-EN3
Energieverbrauch innerhalb der Organisation.

Mit dem Rückgang des Endenergieverbrauchs ist auch der Primärenergieaufwand auf 46,4 Mio MJ/Jahr gesunken.

Leistungsindikator G4-EN8
Gesamtwasserentnahme nach Quellen.

Der Frischwasserverbrauch ist in den letzten Jahren trotz zunehmender Anzahl an Mitarbeitenden konstant bei ca. 15 000 m³/Jahr geblieben. 2013 lag der Frischwasserverbrauch bei ca. 14 700 m³.

Leistungsindikator G4-EN23
Gesamtgewicht des Abfalls nach Art und Entsorgungsmethode.

Die Abfallmengen werden bei UMSICHT im Rahmen einer Abfallbilanz abfallschlüsselscharf erfasst. Dies ist insbesondere für gefährliche Abfälle relevant, die allerdings nicht regelmäßig im Rahmen der Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeit anfallen. Für Siedlungs- und Papierabfall sowie Glasabfälle stehen Sammelbehältnisse bereit, die jedoch nicht gewogen werden. Basierend auf den bisherigen Berechnungen lag die Gesamtabfallmenge im Jahr 2012 bei 58 t und bei 79 t im Jahr 2013.

Treibhausgase

13. Klimarelevante Emissionen

13. Das Unternehmen legt die Treibhausgas(THG)-Emissionen entsprechend dem Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocol oder darauf basierenden Standards offen und gibt seine selbst gesetzten Ziele zur Reduktion der Emissionen an.

Mit Rückgang des Primärenergieaufwands sind die Treibhausgasemissionen ebenfalls im letzten Jahr rückläufig. Lagen sie 2012 insgesamt bei ca. 2 700 t CO2-Äquivalenten, beliefen sie sich im Jahr 2013 auf knapp 2 500 t CO2-Äquivalente. Von den 2 500 t CO2-Äquivalente wurden 80 Prozent durch den Stromverbrauch, 13 Prozent durch den Erdgasverbrauch und 7 Prozent durch Dienstreisen verursacht.

Die Treibhausgasemissionen pro Mitarbeitendem und Jahr sind seit 2011 von 10,8 t CO2-Äquivalenten/MA auf 10,1 t CO2-Äquivalente/MA in 2012 und 8,1 t CO2-Äquivalente/MA in 2013 gesunken.

Die Treibhausgasemissionen, die durch Dienstreisen verursacht wurden, liegen bei 0,75 t CO2-Äquivalenten/MA im Jahr 2013. Insgesamt wurden 2013 60 Prozent der Dienstreisen mit der Bahn (41 %) und dem ÖPNV (19 %) durchgeführt. In 25 Prozent der Dienstreisen wurde ein Dienstwagen genutzt und in 15 Prozent das Flugzeug. Trotz der dominierenden Nutzung der Bahn wurden fast die Hälfte der zurückgelegten Kilometer geflogen. Der Grund dafür liegt darin, dass einige Projekte Dienstreisen nach Südamerika und Asien erforderten. Die Nutzung von Kraftstoffen führt zu Treibhausgas- und Stickoxidemissionen. Über alle Transportmittel hinweg wurden 2013 etwa 200 t CO2-Äquivalente und 590 kg NOx emittiert. Die durch die Flugreisen verursachten NOx-Emissionen (444 kg) sind deutlich höher als die durch andere Verkehrsträger verursachten NOx-Emissionen. Ziel ist es daher, Inlandsflüge zu reduzieren und verstärkt die Bahn zu nutzen.

Es ist geplant, die Stromversorgung des Instituts auf Ökostrom umzustellen.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator G4-EN15
Direkte THG-Emissionen (Scope 1).

13 % unserer Treibhausgasemissionen (von 2 500 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalenten) wurden durch unseren Erdgasverbrauch verursacht.

Leistungsindikator G4-EN16
Indirekte energiebezogene THG-Emissionen (Scope 2).

Im Jahr 2013 stammten 80 % des gesamten Treibhausgasemissionen (von 2 500 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalenten) aus dem Bezug von Elektrizität und fallen damit unter Scope 2 des Greenhouse Gas Protocols.

Leistungsindikator G4-EN17
Weitere indirekte THG-Emissionen (Scope 3).

Die Treibhausgasemissionen, die durch Dienstreisen verursacht wurden, liegen im Jahr 2013 bei 202 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalenten. Weitere Treibhausgasemissionen haben wir in diesem Scope nicht erfasst.

Leistungsindikator G4-EN19
Reduzierung der THG-Emissionen.

Ergänzung: Unsere gesamten THG-Emissionen sind von 2 700 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalenten im Jahr 2012 auf 2 500 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalente im Jahr 2013 gesunken.