General Information

Company name Merck
Reporting year 2014
Standard
GRI 4
Contact
Merck
Public Affairs and Corporate Responsibility


Maria Schaad
Frankfurter Str. 250
64293 Darmstadt
Germany
+49 (0) 6151 72 - 0
+49 (0) 6151 72 - 200

Company Profile
Merck is a leading company for innovative, top-quality high-tech products in the healthcare, life science and performance materials sectors. The company has six businesses - Merck Serono, Consumer Health, Allergopharma, Biosimilars, Merck Millipore, and Performance Materials - and generated sales of € 11.3 billion in 2014. Around 39,000 employees work to improve the quality of life for patients, to foster the success of customers, and to help meet global challenges. Merck is the oldest pharmaceutical and chemical company in the world – since 1668, the company has stood for innovation, business success and responsible entrepreneurship.


CR-Reporting
The data provided in this statement of compliance with the German Sustainability Code is based on the Merck Corporate Responsibility Report 2014 and the Merck Annual Report 2014.
The CR Report covers the 2013 and 2014 fiscal years and pertains to the entire Merck Group with legal entities across 66 countries. We use the results of our materiality analysis as well as input from stakeholders to inform our CR Reports, which are aligned to the internationally recognized guidelines of the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI ) as well as its principle of completeness. This report was drafted in accordance with the requirements of the GRI G4 guidelines and meets the criteria for a "comprehensive" application level. At the same time, our CR Report also documents the progress we've made in implementing the principles of the United Nations Global Compact ("Communication on Progress").
We have a long history of reporting on issues pertaining to our corporate responsibility - a tradition that began in 1993 with the publication of environmental reports. In 2003, we published our first full Corporate Responsibility Report detailing how we fulfill our obligation to society and have since done so every two years.

The figures in the Corporate Responsibility Report 2014 as well as the sustainability information relating to ‘Materiality analysis’ and ‘Stakeholder dialogue’ have been subjected to a limited assurance audit.

Further information:
- Merck Corporate Responsibility Report 2014
- Merck Annual Report 2014
- Merck Group

Allgemeine Informationen

Unternehmensname Merck
Berichtsjahr 2014
Berichtsstandard
GRI 4
Kontakt
Merck
Public Affairs and Corporate Responsibility


Maria Schaad
Frankfurter Str. 250
64293 Darmstadt
Deutschland
+49 (0) 6151 72 - 0
+49 (0) 6151 72 - 200

Unternehmensprofil
Merck ist ein führendes Unternehmen für innovative und hochwertige Hightech-Produkte in den Bereichen Healthcare, Life Science und Performance Materials. Das Unternehmen hat sechs Geschäfte – Merck Serono, Consumer Health, Allergopharma, Biosimilars, Merck Millipore und Performance Materials – und erwirtschaftete im Jahr 2014 Umsatzerlöse von rund 11,3 Mrd. €. Rund 39.000 Mitarbeiter arbeiten daran, die Lebensqualität von Patienten zu verbessern, den Erfolg seiner Kunden zu steigern und einen Beitrag zur Lösung globaler Herausforderungen zu leisten. Merck ist das älteste pharmazeutisch-chemische Unternehmen der Welt – seit 1668 steht das Unternehmen für Innovation, wirtschaftlichen Erfolg und unternehmerische Verantwortung.

CR-Berichterstattung
Die Angaben in dieser DNK-Entsprechenserklärung beziehen sich auf den Merck Corporate Responsibility Bericht 2014 sowie den Merck Geschäftsbericht 2014.

Der Merck CR-Bericht 2014 umfasst die Geschäftsjahre (Kalenderjahre) 2013 und 2014 und bezieht sich auf den gesamten Merck-Konzern mit Gesellschaften in 66 Ländern. Die Inhalte unserer CR-Berichte orientieren sich am international anerkannten Leitfaden der Global Reporting Initiative (GRI ) und den Prinzipien der Vollständigkeit, Wesentlichkeit („Materiality“) und der Einbeziehung von Stakeholdern. Der CR-Bericht wurde in Übereinstimmung mit den Vorgaben des GRI-G4-Leitfadens erstellt und erfüllt die Anwendungsebene „Comprehensive“. Zugleich dokumentiert der CR-Bericht die Fortschritte bei der Umsetzung der Prinzipien des Global Compact der Vereinten Nationen (Communication on Progress).
Die Berichterstattung zu Themen, die unsere unternehmerische Verantwortung betreffen, hat eine lange Tradition: Bereits seit 1993 informieren wir – zunächst in Umweltberichten, ab 2003 alle zwei Jahre in CR-Berichten – darüber, wie wir unsere unternehmerische Verantwortung wahrnehmen.

Die Kennzahlen im Corporate Responsibility Bericht 2014 sowie die Angaben zur Materialitätsanalyse und zum Stakeholder-Dialog wurden im Rahmen einer betriebswirtschaftlichen Prüfung (Limited Assurance) geprüft.

Weitere Infomationen:
- Merck Corporate Responsibility Bericht 2014
- Merck Geschäftsbericht 2014
- Merck Group