General Information

Company name Fraunhofer UMSICHT
Reporting year 2014
Standard
GRI 4
Contact
Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology UMSICHT


Dr.-Ing.
Markus Hiebel
Osterfelder Strasse 3
46047 Oberhausen
Germany


markus.hiebel@umsicht.fraunhofer.de

Fraunhofer UMSICHT actively shapes the energy turnaround and the raw material shift. As a pioneer for technical innovations in the fields of energy, processes and products, Fraunhofer UMSICHT aims at advancing sustainable economies, environmentally friendly technologies and innovative approaches. Our wish: to improve the standard of living and to promote the innovation capacity of the national economy.

Our customers are industrial enterprises, service companies and public authorities. Together with them Fraunhofer UMSICHT develops and researches the latest know-how and transfers it into industrial applications and marketable products.

As one of the 66 institutes of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft we are part of a world-wide network and promote international cooperation. Fraunhofer is the largest organization for applied research in Europe.

For organizations practicing applied research some of the GRI indicators are difficult to report since we offer different services and the requirements for the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft as a registered non for profit organization differs from industrial enterprises, e.g. regarding financial matters. We see the main impact of our work in the products and in our activities on the market. Here, applied research has an enormous influence.

We decided to report according to the principles of the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) since we are convinced that, in the future, only those technologies and products will be able to establish themselves on the markets that – in addition to their function – are ecologically and socially harmless.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT has released four sustainable reports up to now and was co-founder of the Fraunhofer Network Sustainability.

This Declaration of Conformity refers to the years 2012/2013.

Allgemeine Informationen

Unternehmensname Fraunhofer UMSICHT
Berichtsjahr 2014
Berichtsstandard
GRI 4
Kontakt
Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology UMSICHT


Dr.-Ing.
Markus Hiebel
Osterfelder Strasse 3
46047 Oberhausen
Deutschland


markus.hiebel@umsicht.fraunhofer.de

Fraunhofer UMSICHT gestaltet die Energie- und Rohstoffwende aktiv mit. Als Vorreiter für technische Neuerungen in den Bereichen Energie, Prozesse und Produkte will Fraunhofer UMSICHT nachhaltiges Wirtschaften, umweltschonende Technologien und innovatives Verhalten voranbringen, um die Lebensqualität der Menschen zu verbessern und die Innovationsfähigkeit der Wirtschaft zu fördern.

Unsere Auftraggeber sind Industrieunternehmen, Dienstleistungsunternehmen und die öffentliche Hand. Gemeinsam mit ihnen entwickelt und erforscht das Institut neuestes Wissen und transferiert es in industrielle Anwendungen und marktfähige Produkte.

Als eins von 66 Instituten und selbstständigen Einrichtungen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sind wir weltweit vernetzt und fördern die internationale Zusammen­arbeit. Fraunhofer ist die größte Organisation für angewandte Forschung in Europa.

Für Organisationen der angewandten Forschung sind einige Indikatoren der GRI sehr schwierig zu berichten, da wir unterschiedliche Dienstleistungen anbieten und die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft als eingetragener Verein, z. B. im finanziellen Bereich, andere Voraussetzungen als Industrieunternehmen hat. Den Haupt-Impact unserer Arbeit sehen wir in den Produkten und unseren Tätigkeiten auf dem Markt. Hier hat die angewandte Forschung einen großen Hebel.

Wir haben uns entschieden, nach GRI zu berichten, da wir der Überzeugung sind, dass sich zukünftig nur die Technologien und Produkte in den Märkten etablieren werden, die – neben ihrer Funktion – ökologisch, sozial und ethisch unbedenklich sind.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT hat bereits 4 Nachhaltigkeitsberichte veröffentlicht und ist Mitgründer des Fraunhofer-Netzwerks Nachhaltigkeit.

Diese Entsprechenserklärung bezieht sich auf die Jahre 2012/2013.