Rules and Processes

5. Responsibility

5. Accountability in the corporate management with regard to sustainability is disclosed.

The highest-ranking decision-makers are the director of the institute and his deputy. In 2012, the institute’s management appointed a sustainability manager. He is a member of the network committee and has the right to speak at the monthly meetings of the steering committee.

6. Rules and Processes

6. The company discloses how the sustainability strategy is implemented in the operational business by way of rules and processes.

For internal management the Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SBSC) is applied. The targets of the institute are set by the directorate; the targets of the business units are agreed upon between the directorate and the heads of the business units (s. page 8 of the Fraunhofer UMSICHT Sustainability Report).

The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft also reports its sustainability activities on the Internet. In October 2014 the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft published its first Sustainability Report.

7. Control

7. The company discloses how and what performance indicators on sustainability are integrated into its periodical internal planning and control and how the reliability, comparability and consistency of the data applied to internal controls and external communication are safeguarded through appropriate processes.

The analysis of our main activities and the affiliated opportunities and risks with regard to sustainability is carried out by means of the Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SBSC). Here, aspects of sustainability are integrated into the four following perspectives: economics and finances, employees and expertise, market and society, ecology and processes. This guarantees that sustainability aspects are taken into account in all operational activities, whether they are directed inwards or outwards.

Please find detailed information on page 8 of our Sustainability Report.

In addition to its mission, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has published the Declaration to Third Parties relating to Project Business, which describes the essential principles of ensuring the quality of the cooperation and of dealing with business partners and employees, and contains basics of social responsibility. Please find more detailed information here.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Key Performance Indicator G4-56
Describe the organization’s values, principles, standards and norms of behaviour such as codes of conduct and codes of ethics. Link

As an expression of the corporation culture the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft operates a Compliance Management System. Compliance requires adhering to the relevant legal requirements and internal regulations defined in the articles of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. This forms an important basis for our corporate success. The goal of Compliance is to provide the transparent and responsible protection for our organization and its employees. The assurance of compliance with the legal directives and guidelines form the basis of our corporate activity.

In 2009 the German Federal Ministry of Finance released the "Principles of good corporate and investment management for the government sector", which set recommendations in the form of the Public Corporate Governance Code (PCGK) for companies with the participation of the government. In 2010 the Executive Board of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft decided to introduce the Fraunhofer Compliance Management System as part of the improvement of its controlling system. Compliance, understood as "regulatory compliance" in the traditional sense, means for the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft to act responsibly and value-oriented when dealing with the employees as well as in cooperation with the business partners. By systematically considering the topic "Regulations and Compliance", the executive board fulfills its responsibility to ensure the working legal system.

The Compliance Office is the central point of contact within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft for questions concerning the Compliance Management System. It reports annually to the Executive Board about the relevant topics and planned measures on the issues of compliance. The Compliance Office is supported by the Compliance Committee, which consists of representatives of the institutes and the executive board as well as of other executives. (Source: Sustainability Report of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft 2013, p. 61)

In addition to its mission, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has published the Declaration to Third Parties relating to Project Business, which describes the essential principles of ensuring the quality of the cooperation of dealing with business partners and staff, and contains basics of social responsibility. Please find detailed information here.

In addition to adhering to the basic principles for ensuring good scientific practice and the necessary standards, Fraunhofer UMSICHT is following its own guidelines along with the guidelines of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, which provide ethical guidelines for our project work.

Incentive Schemes

8. Incentive Systems

8. The company discloses how target agreements and remuneration schemes for executives and employees are also geared towards the achievement of sustainability goals and how they are aligned towards long-term value creation. It discloses the extent to which the achievement of these goals forms part of the evaluation of the top managerial level (board / managing directors) conducted by the monitoring body (supervisory board / advisory board).

The Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SBSC) sets the individual sustainability targets for Fraunhofer UMSICHT’s business units. It is used as a means of assessment in the appraisal interviews with the heads of the business units. In comparison to the industry, Fraunhofer UMSICHT has only limited influence on the salary, because of existing collective agreements for the civil service. A variable performance-based remuneration is a component of the salary.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Key Performance Indicator G4-51a
Remuneration policies – report the remuneration policies for the highest governance body and senior executives. Link

The annual compensation of the highest governance body and senior executives is not recorded and reported by Fraunhofer UMSICHT.

The remuneration policy is subject to the collective bargaining agreement for civil service employees (TVöD - Tarifvertrag des Öffentlichen Dienstes).

Key Performance Indicator G4-54
Report the ratio of the annual total compensation for the organization’s highest-paid individual in each country of significant operations to the median annual total compensation for all employees (excluding the highest-paid individual) in the same country. Link

All employees of Fraunhofer UMSICHT are covered by the collective bargaining agreement for civil service employees in Germany (TVöD - Tarifvertrag des Öffentlichen Dienstes).

Stakeholder Engagement

9. Stakeholder Engagement

9. The company discloses how the socially and economically relevant stakeholders are identified and integrated into the sustainability process. It is disclosed whether and how an ongoing dialogue takes place with them and how the results are integrated into the sustainability process.

During the last years Fraunhoder UMSICHT has immersed itself deeper in the stakeholder dialog. Several workshops with internal and external stakeholders were conducted. Two of our most important stakeholder groups are the Board of Trustees of the institute and the UMSICHT Circle of Friends and Patrons. The members of the Board of Trustees actively contribute (e. g. in workshops) to important strategic questions. As an institute of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, we cooperate in a spirit of partnership with the Board, the headquarters, and other institutes. They are equally a part of the scientific community that is interconnected with us such as universities, non-university research facilities, and industrial partners in the R&D environment.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT collected proposals for the stakeholders invited to the dialog event from the sustainability working group of the institute and coordinated them with the directorate. Particular attention was paid to taking into consideration all the relevant stakeholder groups (industry, science, politics, society).

Please find more detailed information on the stakeholder dialog in paragraph 2 “Materiality” of the section “Strategic Analysis” in this Declaration of Conformity.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Key Performance Indicator G4-27
Report key topics and concerns that have been raised through stakeholder engagement, and how the organization has responded to those key topics and concerns, including through its reporting. Report the stakeholder groups that raised each of the key topics and concerns. Link

Please find detailed information on the stakeholder dialog and the key topics in the paragraph 2 “Materiality” of the section “Strategic Analysis” in this Declaration of Conformity.

Innovation Management

10. Innovation and Product Management

10. The company discloses how innovations in products and services are enhanced through suitable processes which improve sustainability with respect to the company’s utilization of resources and with regard to users. Likewise, a further statement is made with regard as to how the current and future impact of the key products and services in the value chain and in the product life cycle are assessed.

The services of our institute include research services and product development on behalf of customers. Due to the individual nature of customers’ requirements, the processes have to be adjusted according to the needs of the customer. An integral part of our research services - especially with public contracts - are sustainability assessments, which, among others, go along with the LCAs, e.g. as a part of accompanying research.

Within the scope of our R&D-activities we use the following instruments: LCAs (e.g. Carbon Footprints), feasibility studies, sustainability management, strategy development, material flow analyses, recycling strategies, geographic information systems, flow simulations, IPR analyses, IPR strategies, market and trend surveys, SWOT analyses, portfolio and scenario planning, workshops, roadmaps, communication concepts and strategic action concepts.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Key Performance Indicator G4-EN6
Reduction of energy consumption. Link

Unlike a manufacturing company, our institute cannot set absolute reduction goals due to its R&D-activities (e.g. concerning water and energy use), for the reason that Fraunhofer UMSICHT consumes different amounts of energy or water depending on the nature and scope of our projects (which include e.g. development of an innovative energy storage or improvement of the membrane technology, thus including a higher consumption of energy or water).

In 2013, the total energy consumption amounted to approx. 18.7 million MJ. In comparison to 2012, the annual consumption of electricity dropped slightly, whereas the gas consumption increased slightly. The comparison of the annual consumption of electricity per staff member (SM) in the past years shows that it was continuously reduced from approx. 18,200 kWh/SM in 2011 to approx. 16,900 kWh/SM in 2012, and further to 13,600 kWh/SM in 2013. On the other hand, the annual gas consumption remains constant at approx. 800 m³ of natural gas per employee.

With the drop in final energy consumption, the primary energy expenditure by Fraunhofer UMSICHT also dropped from 50.5 million MJ/year (2012) to 46.4 million MJ/year (2013). Correspondingly, the greenhouse gas emissions also decreased. While the total in 2012 amounted to approx. 2,700 t of CO2 equivalent, they amounted to barely 2,500 t of CO2 equivalent in 2013. Of those 2,500 t of CO2 equivalent, 80 percent were caused by the consumption of electricity, 13 percent by the consumption of natural gas, and 7 percent by business trips.

Key Performance Indicator G4-FS11
Percentage of assets subject to positive and negative environmental or social screening. Link

Fraunhofer UMSICHT has no assets subject to positive and negative environmental or social screening.

Regeln und Prozesse

5. Verantwortung

5. Die Verantwortlichkeiten in der Unternehmensführung für Nachhaltigkeit werden offengelegt.

Die höchsten Entscheidungsträger sind der Institutsleiter und sein Stellvertreter. Im Jahr 2012 hat die Institutsleitung einen Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragten berufen. Dieser ist Mitglied des Netzwerk-Ausschusses und hat Sprachrecht im monatlichen Treffen des Institutsleitungsausschusses.

6. Regeln und Prozesse

6. Das Unternehmen legt offen, wie die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie durch Regeln und Prozesse im operativen Geschäft implementiert wird.

Das interne Management erfolgt über die Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SBSC). Die Zielgrößen für das Institut werden durch die Institutsleitung (IL) festgelegt; die Ziele für die Abteilungen von der IL in Abstimmung mit den Abteilungsleitungen (siehe Nachhaltigkeitsbericht S. 8).

Auch die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft präsentiert ihre Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten im Internet. Im Oktober 2014 veröffentlichte die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ihren ersten Nachhaltigkeitsbericht.

7. Kontrolle

7. Das Unternehmen legt offen, wie und welche Leistungsindikatoren zur Nachhaltigkeit in der regelmäßigen internen Planung und Kontrolle genutzt werden. Es legt dar, wie geeignete Prozesse Zuverlässigkeit, Vergleichbarkeit und Konsistenz der Daten zur internen Steuerung und externen Kommunikation sichern.

Die Analyse unserer wesentlichen Tätigkeiten und die damit verbundenen Chancen und Risiken mit Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung erfolgt mithilfe der Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SBSC). Dabei werden Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte in die vier Dimensionen Ökonomie/Finanzen, Mitarbeiter/Kompetenz, Markt/Gesellschaft, Ökologie/Prozesse integriert. Dies gewährleistet, dass Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte in allen operativen Tätigkeiten, die sowohl nach innen als auch nach außen gerichtet sind, Berücksichtigung finden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie ab S. 8 unseres Nachhaltigkeitsberichts.

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft hat zusätzlich zu ihrer Mission eine Erklärung gegenüber Dritten im Rahmen des Projektgeschäfts veröffentlicht, in der Grundlagen zum Umgang mit Geschäftspartnerinnen und -partnern, mit Mitarbeitenden, zur Sicherstellung der Qualität der Zusammenarbeit und zur gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung beschrieben sind. Diese finden Sie hier.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator G4-56
Beschreiben Sie die Werte, Grundsätze sowie Verhaltensstandards und -normen (Verhaltens- und Ethikkodizes) der Organisation. Link

Als Ausdruck der Unternehmenskultur betreibt die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ein Compliance Management System. Compliance bedeutet dabei die Einhaltung der für uns geltenden gesetzlichen Anforderungen sowie der satzungsmäßigen und unternehmensinternen Regelungen und bildet damit eine wichtige Grundlage des Unternehmenserfolgs. Ziel der organisierten Betrachtung von Compliance ist der transparente und verantwortungsvolle Schutz unseres Unternehmens und unserer Mitarbeitenden. Die Sicherstellung von gesetzlichen Vorgaben und Richtlinien bilden die Basis unseres unternehmerischen Handelns.

Das Bundesministerium für Finanzen hat 2009 die "Grundsätze guter Unternehmens- und Beteiligungsführung im Bereich des Bundes" erlassen, die als Public Corporate Governance Kodex (PCGK) Empfehlungen für Unternehmen mit Beteiligung der öffentlichen Hand festlegen. Im Rahmen der Weiterentwicklung des Regelungssystems beschloss der Vorstand der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft 2010 die Einführung eines Fraunhofer Compliance-Management-Systems. Compliance, im klassischen Sinne als "Regeleinhaltung" verstanden, bedeutet für die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ein werteorientiertes und verantwortungsvolles Handeln im Umgang miteinander ebenso wie in der Zusammenarbeit mit Geschäftspartnern. Mit der systematischen Betrachtung des Themas "Regelungen und Regeleinhaltung" soll der Verantwortung des Vorstands, für Rechtsordnung zu sorgen, explizit nachgekommen werden.

Das Compliance Office nimmt die zentrale Ansprechpartnerfunktion innerhalb der Gesellschaft bei Fragen zum Compliance-Management-System wahr und berichtet dem Vorstand einmal jährlich im Rahmen eines Tätigkeitsberichts zu relevanten Compliance-Themen und geplanten Maßnahmen. Unterstützt wird es dabei vom Compliance-Komitee, das aus Vertretungen der Institute und des Vorstandskreises sowie weiteren Führungskräften besteht.
(Quelle: Nachhaltigkeitsbericht der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft 2013, S. 61).

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft hat zusätzlich zu ihrer Mission im Rahmen des Projektgeschäfts eine Erklärung gegenüber Dritten veröffentlicht, in der Grundlagen zum Umgang mit Geschäftspartnerinnen und -partnern, mit Mitarbeitenden, zur Sicherstellung der Qualität der Zusammenarbeit und zur gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung beschrieben sind.

Neben der Einhaltung der Grundsätze zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis und nötiger Standards folgt Fraunhofer UMSICHT seinen eigenen Leitlinien, und den Leitlinien der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, die ethische Leitplanken für unsere Projektarbeit bieten.

Anreizsysteme

8. Anreizsysteme

8. Das Unternehmen legt offen, wie sich die Zielvereinbarungen und Vergütungen für Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter auch am Erreichen von Nachhaltigkeitszielen und an der langfristigen Wertschöpfung orientieren. Es wird offengelegt, inwiefern die Erreichung dieser Ziele Teil der Evaluation der obersten Führungsebene (Vorstand/ Geschäftsführung) durch das Kontrollorgan (Aufsichtsrat/Beirat) ist.

Die zu erreichenden Nachhaltigkeitsziele für Fraunhofer UMSICHT sind in der Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SBSC) für die einzelnen Abteilungen festgelegt. Diese wird zur Bewertung in den Mitarbeitergesprächen mit den Führungskräften eingesetzt. Es gibt hier im Vergleich zur Industrie nur eingeschränkten Einfluss auf die Vergütungen, da die meisten Mitarbeiter dem Tarifvertrag des öffentlichen Diensts unterliegen. Eine teilweise Berücksichtigung erfolgt durch den Gehaltsbestandteil Leistungsentgelt.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator G4-51a
Vergütungspolitik – Berichten Sie über die Vergütungspolitik für das höchste Kontrollorgan und die leitenden Führungskräfte.

Die Jahresvergütung des höchsten Kontrollorgans und der leitenden Führungskräfte wird von Fraunhofer UMSICHT nicht erhoben und nicht ausgewiesen.

Die Vergütungspolitik unterliegt dem Tarifvertrag öffentlicher Dienst (TVöD).

Leistungsindikator G4-54
Nennen Sie das Verhältnis der Jahresvergütung des höchstbezahlten Mitarbeiters in jedem Land mit signifikanten geschäftlichen Aktivitäten zum mittleren Niveau (Median) der Jahresgesamtvergütung aller Beschäftigten (ohne den höchstbezahlten Mitarbeiter) im selben Land.

Alle Mitarbeitenden von Fraunhofer UMSICHT sind nach TVöD in Deutschland angestellt.

Stakeholderengagement

9. Beteiligung von Anspruchsgruppen

9. Das Unternehmen legt offen, wie gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftlich relevante Anspruchsgruppen identifiziert und in den Nachhaltigkeitsprozess integriert werden. Es legt offen, ob und wie ein kontinuierlicher Dialog mit ihnen gepflegt und seine Ergebnisse in den Nachhaltigkeitsprozess integriert werden.

In den vergangenen Jahren stieg Fraunhofer UMSICHT tiefer in den Stakeholderdialog ein. Es fanden mehrere Workshops statt, an denen interne sowie externe Stakeholder teilnahmen. Zwei unserer wichtigsten Stakeholder-Gruppen sind das Kuratorium des Instituts und der Verein zur Förderung der Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik (UMSICHT-Förderverein). Die Mitglieder des Kuratoriums arbeiten aktiv (z. B. in Workshops) an wichtigen strategischen Fragen mit. Als Institut der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft arbeiten wir partnerschaftlich mit dem Vorstand, der Zentrale und anderen Instituten zusammen. Diese sind ebenso Teil der mit uns vernetzten scientific community wie Hochschulen, außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen und industrielle Partner im FuE-Umfeld.

Für die Stakeholder, die zur Dialogveranstaltung eingeladen wurden, wurden Vorschläge aus der Nachhaltigkeits-AG des Instituts heraus gesammelt und mit der Institutsleitung abgestimmt. Dabei wurde darauf geachtet, alle für das Institut relevanten Gruppen (Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft) entsprechend zu berücksichtigen.

Zum Stakeholderdialog siehe auch Punkt 2 "Wesentlichkeit" im Bereich Strategie.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator G4-27
Nennen Sie die wichtigsten Themen und Anliegen, die durch die Einbindung der Stakeholder aufgekommen sind, und wie die Organisation auf jene wichtigen Themen und Anliegen reagiert hat, einschließlich durch ihre Berichterstattung. Nennen Sie die Stakeholdergruppen, die die wichtigen Themen und Anliegen jeweils angesprochen haben.

Zum Stakeholderdialog und den wesentlichen Themen siehe Punkt 2 "Wesentlichkeit" im Bereich Strategie.

Innovationsmanagement

10. Innovations- und Produktmanagement

10. Das Unternehmen legt offen, wie es durch geeignete Prozesse dazu beiträgt, dass Innovationen bei Produkten und Dienstleistungen die Nachhaltigkeit bei der eigenen Ressourcennutzung und bei Nutzern verbessern. Ebenso wird für die wesentlichen Produkte und Dienstleistungen dargelegt, ob und wie deren aktuelle und zukünftige Wirkung in der Wertschöpfungskette und im Produktlebenszyklus bewertet wird.

Bei den Dienstleistungen des Instituts handelt es sich um Forschungsdienstleistungen oder um Produktentwicklungen im Kundenauftrag. Da es sich um sehr individuelle Anforderungen handelt, wird das Verfahren jeweils auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse des Kunden angepasst. Ein Bestandteil unserer Forschungsdienstleistungen sind - insbesondere bei öffentlichen Aufträgen - Nachhaltigkeitsbewertungen, u. a. mit Ökobilanzen z. B. im Rahmen einer Begleitforschung.

Im Rahmen unserer Tätigkeit nutzen wir u. a. folgende Instrumente: Ökobilanzierung (z. B. Carbon Footprints), Wirtschaftlichkeitsberechnungen, Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement, Strategieentwicklung, Stoffstromanalysen, Recyclingstrategien, Geoinformationssysteme, Strömungssimulationen, Schutzrechtsanalysen, Patentstrategien, Markt- und Trendanalysen, SWOT-Analysen, Portfolio- und Szenarioplanung, Workshops, Roadmaps, Kommunikationskonzepte und strategische Handlungskonzepte.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator G4-EN6
Verringerung des Energieverbrauchs.

Anders als ein produzierender Betrieb können wir uns bedingt durch unsere Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeiten keine absoluten Reduktionsziele auferlegen (z. B. im Wasser- und Energiebereich), da wir je nach Art und Umfang der Aufträge mehr Energie verbrauchen (z. B. Energiespeicher) oder Wasser (z. B. Membrantechnik). Unsere Arbeiten können aber im Endprodukt zu weniger Ressourcennutzung und Emissionen führen und wir achten darauf, die Ressourcen möglichst effizient einzusetzen.

Der gesamte Energieverbrauch betrug im Jahr 2013 ca. 18,7 Mio MJ. Gegenüber dem Jahr 2012 war der jährliche Stromverbrauch im Jahr 2013 leicht rückläufig, wohingegen der Gasverbrauch leicht zugenommen hat. Der jährliche Stromverbrauch pro Mitarbeitendem (MA) konnte von 16 900 kWh/MA im Jahr 2012 auf 13 600 kWh/MA gesenkt werden. Hingegen blieb der jährliche Gasverbrauch konstant bei ca. 800 m³ pro MA.

Mit dem Rückgang des Endenergieverbrauchs ist auch der Primärenergieaufwand, der neben dem Verbrauch an Strom und Gas auch die benötigte Energie der Dienstreisen mit einschließt, von 50,5 Mio MJ/Jahr (2012) auf 46,4 Mio MJ/Jahr (2013) gesunken. Dementsprechend rückläufig sind auch die Treibhausgasemissionen. Während sie 2012 noch bei knapp 2 700 Tonnen CO2-Äquiv. lagen, sanken sie 2013 auf ca. 2 500 Tonnen CO2-Äquiv. Davon wurden 80 % durch den Stromverbrauch, 13 % durch den Erdgasverbrauch und 7 Prozent durch Dienstreisen verursacht.

Leistungsindikator G4-FS11
Prozentsatz der Finanzanlagen, die eine positive oder negative Auswahlprüfung nach Umwelt- oder sozialen Faktoren durchlaufen.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT hat keine Finanzanlagen, die eine positive oder negative Auswahlprüfung nach Umwelt- oder sozialen Faktoren durchlaufen.