Strategic Analysis

1. Strategic Analysis and Action

1. The company discloses how it analyses the opportunities and risks of its major activities in the context of sustainable development. The company explains what concrete measures it is undertaking to operate in compliance with the essential and recognized sector-specific, national and international standards.

At the beginning of 2014, our institute was looking for answers to the question: “Which opportunities and risks do we see for Fraunhofer UMSICHT in a consistent alignment with the guiding principle of sustainable development?”. We found the answers in several workshops and discussed them with the institute’s directorate. The results are transparently recorded within the SWOT analysis on page 4 of the current Sustainability Report. Please find more detailed information on this topic in the Fraunhofer UMSICHT Sustainability Report on page 3.

We reported the standards within the Key Performance Indicator G4-56 “The organization’s values, principles, standards and norms of behavior”.

2. Materiality

2. The company discloses what aspects of sustainability have a significant impact on its business operations and how, in its strategy, it takes them into account and systematically addresses them.

The sustainability strategy of our institute is embedded in our research assignment and anchored in our guidelines, e.g. in paragraph 10: “Fraunhofer UMSICHT sees itself as a pathfinder for technical changes in the areas of environment, energy, process engineering, and safety. The institute promotes effective management, environmentally friendly technologies, and environmentally conscious behavior in order to enhance society’s overall quality of life.” (The complete guidelines can be found here).

Our sustainability strategy was created holistically at Fraunhofer UMSICHT and is anchored in the institute as a whole. Since 2009 our institute has been using the Sustainability Balanced Scorecard (SCBC) as a controlling instrument. Within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft the institutes exchange views in the Fraunhofer Network Sustainability and have developed suggestions for an overall strategy.

We intend to show all our stakeholders (e.g. customers, public and politics) how our R&D products and services contribute to a sustainable development. We would like to get into contact with them to bring forward these objectives together in order to improve the quality of life in our society in general. In 2014 we conducted a stakeholder dialog with representatives from the fields of industry, science, politics, and society and developed a materiality matrix of sustainable criteria (which can be found on page 7 of our Sustainability Report).

In a first workshop in January 2014, those aspects/topics were worked out that the employees expect in the sustainability report of Fraunhofer UMSICHT. The results were clustered and in February 2014 presented to the steering committee of the institute. The latter then prioritized and complemented them. In June 2014, a workshop followed with external stakeholders from the fields of industry, science, politics, and society in which additional aspects relevant to UMSICHT were found.

In an intense and fruitful discussion the following aspects were considered to be of particular importance from an external point of view: employee integration and participation strategy, "sustainable view of the person", contribution of the institute to transformation processes (e. g. energy transition) and transdisciplinary, comprehensible presentation ("translation") of scientific results in a social dialog.

Additional aspects are: regional effects of the R&D results and UMSICHT as motivator for innovative R&D for customers as well as proactive networking. These aspects were primarily attributed to the areas of staff responsibility, innovation process, responsible research, and responsibility for society (as well as for the region).

Please find the materiality matrix on page 7 of our Sustainability Report.

3. Objectives

3. The company discloses what qualitative and/or quantitative as well as temporally defined sustainability goals are set and operationalized, and how their level of achievement is monitored.

Unlike a manufacturing company, our institute cannot set absolute reduction goals due to its R&D-activities (e.g. concerning water and energy use), for the reason that Fraunhofer UMSICHT consumes different amounts of energy or water depending on the nature and scope of our projects (which include e.g. development of an innovative energy storage or improvement of the membrane technology, thus including a higher consumption of energy or water). However, our work may lead to reduced resource consumption and emissions in the final product and we also make sure that the resources are used as efficiently as possible.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT applies measures in various fields (e.g. in human resource development and sustainability management), which are documented in detail on pages 30 - 31 of our Fraunhofer UMSICHT Sustainability Report. Examples include e.g. green IT, green procurement, reducing paper consumption and childcare for the children of our employees.

The objectives of the institute are also in the Changemaker Manifesto of the Utopia Foundation in the form of ten commitments documented.

4. Depth of the Value Chain

4. The company states what significance aspects of sustainability have for added value and how deep into the value-added chain the sustainability criteria are verified.

With its services Fraunhofer UMSICHT as a research institute is positioned at the beginning of the value chain, partly because of developing prototypes and individual products. In order to increase the quality of our services for our customers and clients, we also take into consideration critical issues, since changes in the development process can be implemented more easily and cost-effectively. Critical points include, e.g. the use of hazardous substances and their substitution possibilities, availability of raw materials (criticality of individual materials) and environmental impact during the use and disposal phases (reparability, disassembly, recyclability). We show our clients alternatives and options for action with regard to these issues.

For our customers we also provide sustainability assessments and LCAs based on ISO 14040/44.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

Strategische Analyse

1. Strategische Analyse und Maßnahmen

1. Das Unternehmen legt offen, wie es für seine wesentlichen Aktivitäten die Chancen und Risiken im Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung analysiert. Das Unternehmen erläutert, welche konkreten Maßnahmen es ergreift, um im Einklang mit den wesentlichen und anerkannten branchenspezifischen, nationalen und internationalen Standards zu operieren.

Anfang 2014 beantwortete Fraunhofer UMSICHT folgende Frage: ''Welche Chancen und Risiken sehen wir für Fraunhofer UMSICHT bei einer konsequenten Ausrichtung auf das Leitbild der nachhaltigen Entwicklung?''. Die Antworten wurden in Workshops gefunden und mit der Institutsleitung diskutiert. Sie sind transparent in einer SWOT-Analyse auf Seite 4 im aktuellen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht dokumentiert. Ausführliche Informationen im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht auf S. 3.

Standards haben wir im Leistungsindikator G4-56 ''Werte, Grundsätze sowie Verhaltensstandards und -normen (Verhaltens- und Ethikkodizes) der Organisation'' berichtet.

2. Wesentlichkeit

2. Das Unternehmen legt offen, welche Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Geschäftstätigkeit haben und wie es diese in der Strategie berücksichtigt und systematisch adressiert.

Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie unseres Institutes ist in unseren Forschungsauftrag eingebettet und in unseren Leitlinien verankert, z. B. in Punkt 10: "Fraunhofer UMSICHT versteht sich als Vorreiter für technische Veränderungen in den Bereichen Umwelt, Energie, Verfahrenstechnik und Sicherheit. Das Institut bringt nachhaltiges Wirtschaften, umweltschonende Technologien und umweltbewusstes Verhalten voran, um die Lebensqualität der Gesellschaft insgesamt zu verbessern."
(Die kompletten Leitlinien finden Sie hier).

Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie ist bei Fraunhofer UMSICHT als Ganzes entstanden und verankert. Seit 2009 nutzt das Institut als Steuerungsinstrument die Sustainability Balanced Scorecard. Innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft tauschen sich die Institute untereinander im Netzwerk Nachhaltigkeit aus und haben Vorschläge für eine Fraunhofer-Gesamtstrategie entwickelt.

Wir möchten unseren Anspruchsgruppen (Kunden, Öffentlichkeit, Politik) konkret zeigen, welchen Beitrag unsere FuE-Produkte und Dienstleistungen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung leisten und mit ihnen in Kontakt treten, um diese Ziele gemeinsam voranzutreiben und die Lebensqualität der Gesellschaft insgesamt zu verbessern. Dazu haben wir im Jahr 2014 einen Stakeholderdialog mit Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft durchgeführt und gemeinsam eine Wesentlichkeitsmatrix (welche im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht auf Seite 7 zu finden ist) erstellt.

In einem ersten Workshop wurden im Januar 2014 die Aspekte/Themen erarbeitet, die die Mitarbeitenden im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht von Fraunhofer UMSICHT erwarten. Die Ergebnisse wurden geclustert und im Februar 2014 dem Institutsleitungsausschuss vorgestellt. Durch diesen erfolgte eine Priorisierung und Ergänzung. Im Juni 2014 folgte ein Workshop mit externen Stakeholdern aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft, in dem weitere für UMSICHT relevante Aspekte gefunden wurden.

In einer intensiven und fruchtbaren Diskussion wurden aus externer Sicht vor allem folgende Aspekte als besonders wichtig erachtet wurden: Mitarbeitereinbindung und Beteiligungsstrategie, »nachhaltiges Menschenbild«, Beitrag des Instituts zu Transformationsprozessen (z. B. Energiewende) und transdisziplinäre, verständliche Darstellung ("Übersetzung") wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse in einen gesellschaftlichen Dialog.

Weitere Aspekte sind: regionale Wirkungen der FuE-Ergebnisse und UMSICHT als Impulsgeber für innovative FuE für Kunden sowie proaktive Vernetzung. Diese Aspekte wurden hauptsächlich den Feldern Personalverantwortung, Innovationsprozess, Forschungsverantwortung und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung (auch für die Region) zugeordnet.

Die Wesentlichkeitsmatrix finden Sie auf S. 7 unseres Nachhaltigkeitsberichts.

3. Ziele

3. Das Unternehmen legt offen, welche qualitativen und/oder quantitativen sowie zeitlich definierten Nachhaltigkeitsziele gesetzt und operationalisiert werden und wie deren Erreichungsgrad kontrolliert wird.

Anders als ein produzierender Betrieb können wir uns bedingt durch unsere Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeiten keine absoluten Reduktionsziele auferlegen (z. B. im Wasser- und Energiebereich), da wir je nach Art und Umfang der Aufträge mehr Energie verbrauchen (z. B. Energiespeicher) oder Wasser (z. B. Membrantechnik). Unsere Arbeiten können aber im Endprodukt zu weniger Ressourcennutzung und Emissionen führen und wir achten darauf, die Ressourcen möglichst effizient einzusetzen.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT setzt in verschiedenen Feldern (z. B. Personalentwicklung, Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement) Maßnahmen um, die im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht auf den Seiten 30 - 31 detailliert dokumentiert sind. Beispiele hier sind Grüne IT, Grüne Beschaffung, Senkung des Papierverbrauchs und Kinderbetreuung für UMSICHT-Kinder.

Die Ziele des Instituts werden darüber hinaus im Changemaker-Manifest der Utopia-Stiftung in Form von 10 Commitments dokumentiert.

4. Tiefe der Wertschöpfungskette

4. Das Unternehmen gibt an, welche Bedeutung Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit für die Wertschöpfung haben und bis zu welcher Tiefe seiner Wertschöpfungskette Nachhaltigkeitskriterien überprüft werden.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT steht als Forschungsinstitut mit seinen Leistungen am Anfang der Wertschöpfungskette, z. T. werden Muster und einzelne Produkte erstellt. Um den Mehrwert unserer Leistungen für den Kunden/Auftraggeber weiter zu erhöhen, bedenken wir kritische Punkte mit, da Änderungen im Entwicklungsprozess einfacher und kostengünstiger umzusetzen sind. Kritische Punkte können z. B. sein: Einsatz gefährlicher Stoffe und deren Substitutionsmöglichkeiten, Verfügbarkeit von Rohstoffen (Kritikalität einzelner Materialien), Umweltauswirkungen in der Nutzungs- und Entsorgungsphase (Reparierbarkeit, Demontierbarkeit, Recyclingfähigkeit). Hier werden den Auftraggebern Handlungsalternativen und Optionen aufgezeigt.

Für unsere Kunden bieten wir die Erstellung von Nachhaltigkeitsbewertungen und Ökobilanzen nach ISO 14040/44 an.

Leistungsindikatoren (KPI)

Leistungsindikator GRI 1,2.
Beschreibung der wichtigsten Auswirkungen, Risiken und Chancen.

Fraunhofer UMSICHT berichtet nach dem Standard GRI G4.
Informationen zu dem nach G4 relevanten Leistungsindikator G4-2 finden sich auf S. 3-5 unseres Nachhaltigkeitsberichts.